r.i.p. JANE

July 10, 2007 at 2:57 pm 4 comments

jane 

Yesterday I received the sad news that Jane magazine was shut down. Conde Nast claimed that, “the magazine and website will not fulfill our long-term business expectations,” and various people have reported that no one, save editor in chief Brandon Holley, knew about it until Monday morning. Editors were given until the evening to pack up and, basically, get out.

While  Jane wasn’t perfect (and what magazine is?), it was a Trojan Horse of feminist beliefs in a sea of women-hating women’s magazines. Sure, Jane would put Ashlee Simpson and Avril Lavigne on the cover, but the content inside the magazine was anything but ditzy. With Jane gone, there is no other mainstream women’s magazine that will teach women how to change a flat tire, tell them where to go for a BBQ-centric road trip, or show them a fashion spread shot at Bonnaroo.

A year ago I wrote an analytical piece about Jane for a class and, despite its overall academic dorkiness, think that the message of this paper gets at why the shuttering of Jane is so disappointing:

“JANE is able to reach out to readers who may never have encountered feminism in the media if it weren’t for stumbling upon the magazine; in a recent letter printed in the magazine, Krista writes, “It makes me sick now, but I started reading JANE ‘cause the grocery store was out of Cosmo. Thank God the stock boy was sick. This clever, insightful publication takes the good from other mags and mixes it up in a dorky way. I find comfort in the sarcasm of every journalist on payroll.” Magazines like Bust and Bitch aren’t able to make it onto most grocery store stands, therefore it’s important to at least have a magazine like JANE sitting side-by-side with the latest issue of Glamour. Although it might not be able to present its central value of women’s empowerment 100-percent of the time, JANE makes use of what it can in order to have the biggest and broadest impact.”

On a more personal note, I interned at Jane for a year, which in media internship years is about 5. It was one of the best experiences I have had at a magazine, mostly because of the people who worked there. They taught my how to copy edit, how to write a proper pitch (and would then actually read my pitches), and how to develop my passion for writing about all things pop culture-related. So the first thing I thought about when I heard that Jane was folding was all of the great writers/editors/etc. who worked there. I wish them the best and hope that everything works out.

In the meantime, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Missbehave stays afloat (since it has potential), and I’ll have to figure out how I can cancel the gift subscription to Jane that I bought for my sister at the end of–and I’m not joking– last week.  So long, Jane. –REBECCA

Entry filed under: fashion, feminism, media, music, pop culture, Rebecca.

santa rosario we’re all yanquis

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hilary Davis  |  July 15, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    First off – that sister is ME!!! 😀
    Secondly – I am SO upset that JANE magazine was cancelled because I love readng it and I got excited for it ever month!!!

    WHY GOD? WHY?!?!

    Reply
  • 2. soysolindo  |  July 16, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    I hear that you’ll be sent Glamour instead. Accept my apologies in advance.

    Reply
  • 3. amelia  |  July 27, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    I bought the most recent issue cause I felt badly about not supporting JANE enough in the past. so sad

    Reply
  • 4. Meghan  |  August 29, 2007 at 12:32 am

    I so agree! My cancellation note said they will be sending me Lucky! What the hell kind of Jane reader would read that crap? Are there even words in it?! I hope their talented staff all find amazing jobs…they really kick-ass at what they did. Okay, I’m done bitching about my monthly semi-smart but still major brain candy magazine being cancelled…*sigh*. I really, really loved it.

    P.S. You’re a great writer Rebecca, kudos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

Feeds


