british invasion

July 8, 2007 at 4:21 pm 3 comments

 

Talk about British invasion–both Lily Allen and the Arctic Monkeys are scheduled to perform here in Buenos Aires before the end of the year, and they’ll probably be joined by other compatriots as spring music festival line-ups are announced. The Arctic Monkeys won’t be here until October, but Allen will be performing at Luna Park on August 31.

Whether or not you like her music, you’ve got to admit that Allen is quite an interesting character. New York magazine just published a great interview with her, where she threw out lines like:

“I’ve got my dad’s short legs and long back. My mom, my sister, and my brother all have blonde hair and blue eyes. I’m the only one like this. My sister’s very tall and beautiful. But then again, I’m talented and rich.”

“Al Gore’s going to come in at the last minute and it’s going to be Gore as president and Obama for vice-president. You can [photograph] my tits if Al Gore is not president in two year’s time.”

Allen, who is actually a normal sized (rather than disgustingly skinny) singer, felt the pressure to shed some pounds while touring the US; in a now famous blog post on her MySpace page, she wrote, “I write to you in a sea of tears from my hotel bed in Seattle. I have spent the past hour researching gastric bypass surgery and laser liposuction.” Let’s hope that she fares better in Buenos Aires, which has one of the highest rates of anorexia in the world. I’d suggest taking her out for empanadas and dulce de leche when she gets here, but it looks like Allen’s feeling better already: “And Lily, bless her, doesn’t seem like the sort of star to develop long-lasting complexes. ‘Don’t worry,’ she says, cheerily chomping on chicken saté at Cafe Gitane, a few hours before double-fisting pizza slices at Joe’s. ‘I’m still eating like a fucking pig.'” A girl after my own heart…–REBECCA

Entry filed under: calendar, indie, media, music, pop culture, rock.

street art sunday santa rosario

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alan Patrick  |  July 8, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Oh dear… I thought I had escaped the world of Chavs when I left England two years ago 😦

    Reply
  • 2. Alan Patrick  |  July 8, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    (of course, I’m referring to Lily Allen following me here to BA)

    Reply
  • 3. this is a show « soy so lindo  |  July 20, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    […] British invasion indeed. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

Feeds


